Posted by: janellehilmes | November 3, 2010

Project Update #4 – Chapters 5 and 6

Book: From Stumbling Blocks to Stepping Stones Pages: 61 – 107  For: Friday, November 5th.

This week I read Shari’s account of the 3rd and 4th grades. She struggled through elementary school, but with a couple of good teachers and a lot of luck, Shari unexpectedly managed to pass each grade. Shari finally managed to read simple words and learned her times tables, but she still struggled with writing. I learned about how much a regular schedule helps a learning disabled child and how much change hurts them. I feel lucky to have the brain I have, and I am realizing how much I take for granted how easily I understand schoolwork. This book is making me appreciate being able to read, write, and know my times tables. For some who aren’t as lucky, seemingly simple things like these can be a real struggle.

Responses

  1. Good job Janelle…it sounds like an excellent book.

    Mr. A


Leave a Reply

Categories

